Auteur Sujet: Interview de Mike Mc Vey.  (Lu 3395 fois)

Hors ligne Cyriss-adept

• Héros
  • président de la Boîte A Figurines de Chambéry
    • Boîte à figurines
Interview de Mike Mc Vey.
« le: 15 mars 2010 à 08:14:32 »
Mike McVey, from Studio McVey, has sent along his answers to the questions provided by TGN readers. My thanks to Mike for taking the time to answer these and thanks to all the readers for their questions.

Q: How did you start painting miniatures?
I started painting miniatures back in the early ‘80’s. My brother and I had recently started playing D&D, but didn’t really know you could use miniatures (or that miniatures existed), until we saw them in a games shop in London. I was immediately amazed by them – rows and rows of tiny little men and monsters! I started painting pretty much right after then, and soon realised I liked it a lot more than playing D&D. In those days I was painting with Humbrol enamels – very messy and smelly. It wasn’t long before GW (well actually Citadel in those days), started producing their acrylic range – that’s when I felt like I really started painting.

Q: What made you transition from painting to sculpting?
I was actually pushed into it by the studio manager at GW. I was pretty happily painting miniatures and making dioramas at the time, but discovered I had hit a (fairly low) ceiling with what I could earn. He told me the only way I could expect to earn a higher wage at GW would be to join the sculpting team. I don’t want to make it sound like I went against my will though – it just felt like a big decision at the time. I’d been there for about 10 years painting miniatures, and the thought of starting all over again in a different career was mildly terrifying. I had done a little sculpting by then, but no more than a couple of greens, and nothing that had been pressed. In fact I found my very first green recently (stuffed into a old bits box) – it was a hawk-headed beastman.